DIY Book Scanner Forum

Since I don’t have ten or fifteen grand sitting around, but I have about three shelf feet of magazines that I want to scan, I’m sending some of my more design oriented students out there to build us an overhead scanner. And it isn’t as tough as it may seem, judging by the DIY Book Scanning Forum.

My periodical studies capstone class needs to scan lots of magazines for The Virtual Newsstand site; if you’ve every tried to scan an old magazine, it quickly becomes clear that the normal flatbed scan is slow, unwieldy, too small,  and more often than not damages the magazine. And the point and shoot digital camera and tripod is little better — all sorts of issues arise, like light source and keeping the pages open. The DIY Book Scanning Forum offers schematics, open source software for synching cameras, suggestions for light settings… anything for turning some plywood or pipes, milk crate and paperbox into a fully functional (relatively) high-volume book scanner.

I’ll let you know how our project comes along…

–David M. Earle

6 responses to “DIY Book Scanner Forum

  1. I stumbled across the DIY Forum a few weeks back after running into many of the same problems and dreamed of building one of these. Sounds like a great idea for a class project. I’m excited to hear how it turns out.

    It may be worth springing for the ABBYY fotoreader if it works at a high enough resolution to then do effective OCR.

    http://www.abbyy.com/fotoreader/features/

    Best,
    Bart

  2. Looks pretty cool, but you still need a decent camera — maybe not a $30K Phase One, but something that produces decent resolution.

  3. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies after that he must be visit this site and be up to date all the time.

  4. guys…check this out…solid and portable

    I want buy it.
    Anyone using it?
    But can i bring it to library?

  5. i want to build one myself but i came across this book scanner.
    xcanex at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2p_Nt2WQE0
    anyone tried it?

  6. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but
    I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a comment